Cantor Meets Robinson

Set theory, model theory and their philosophy

University of Campinas
Campinas, 12-15 December, 2018

cantorportraitGeorg Cantor (1845-1918) is widely recognized as the creator of set theory and one of the most important figures in the development of a modern approach to mathematics. Abraham Robinson (1918-1974) is considered a prominent personality in model theory, a field that he helped to innovate with new techniques and results. In this conference we celebrate the centenary of the year 1918, when they ideally met and the torch was passed.


The topic of the conference is the interplay between set theory and model theory, both from a mathematical and a philosophical perspective, with particular emphasis on forcing. This method, invented by Cohen in 1963, facilitated not only a proof of the independence of the CH, but also placed at the center of set theory the study of its models. Its model theoretic version, invented by Robinson, attempts to generalize the notion of algebraic closed fields to other areas of mathematics.

The conferece aims to gather early career scholars in order to foster collaborations and to present a wide perspective on the topics that Cantor and Robinson helped to create and develop.

Universidade de São Paulo IME
São Paulo, 3-6 December, 2018

A series of three mini-courses will be held the week before the conference on the main topic of the conference: large cardinals, Robinson forcing, and Forcing Axioms.

Important Dates

Deadline for submission: August 20, 2018.
Expected notification of acceptance: September 20, 2018.
Mini-Courses: 3-6 December, 2018.
Conference dates: 12-15 December, 2018.


Attendance is free. Participation can be confirmed by writing to

Scientific Committee

Ofélia Alas (Universidade de São Paulo)
Riccardo Bianconi (Universidade de São Paulo)
Christina Brech (Universidade de São Paulo)
Mirna Džamonja (University of East Anglia)
Wilfrid Hodges (British Academy)
Luca Incurvati (University of Amsterdam)
Toby Meadows (University of Queensland)
Carlos di Prisco (Los Andes University)
Sean Walsh (University of California in Los Angeles)

Local Organizing Committee

Rodrigo Freire
Hugo Mariano
Cezar Mortari
Giorgio Venturi (chair)
Edgar Almeida
Edson Bezerra
Santiago Jockwich
Bruno Ramos
João Vitor Schmidt